包容性旅游指南

目的地、项目和代理 - 海滩、水上运动、帆船

(在左上角菜单中探索图层)

 

轮椅无障碍旅行指南

  • 生活能力杂志 经过 能力360 - 免费 订阅 - 频繁的包容性旅行文章

  • 哥伦比亚的 Transmilenio 轮椅无障碍公共交通系统波哥大、麦德林和其他一些城市

  • Samantha Travels India - Wheelchair Van 运输 & Tours - 孟买、果阿、德里、阿格拉、斋浦尔、Ranthambore。 2012 年,导演 Mark Felling 与 Samantha Travels 一起访问了印度。 在为期三周的旅行中,他看到了金三角,这是一次了不起的旅行,金三角指的是印度的三个主要城市——德里、斋浦尔和阿格拉。 这三个城市都很美丽,是多元文化和传统的典范。Samantha Travels 将为您提供他们的三辆轮椅中的一辆。 据我们所知,他们是全国唯一一家能够提供这种包容性旅行的旅行用品商。  印度的司机每天只需 8 美元,看护人每天只需 20 美元!

 

旅游业正在迅速认识到为全球 20% 的残疾人提供服务的价值。 旅行比其他任何事情都更重要,它正在推动许多国家不仅在结构和交通方面,而且在政治上改善可达性。 然而,对于轮椅使用者,尤其是那些无法自行移动的人来说,舒适的包容性假期仍然难以实现,或者至少需要大量的计划和研究。 Broadened Horizons 将重点介绍一些独特的全包套餐,这些套餐前往全球目的地,特定的合作伙伴提供者已竭尽全力提供令人难以置信的包容性体验。 每个房源都将彻底解决最具挑战性但经常被忽视的问题,包括电动轮椅友好型地面交通、天花板升降机(如果有)和娱乐/旅游机会,因为 Broadened Horizons 明白这不仅仅是到达那里并入住酒店,但要体验所有目的地!

除了上面不断增长的独特地点列表之外,还有 

我将在本节中广泛添加一些针对轮椅使用者的旅行提示。 Comfort Carrier 让飞行更轻松、更舒适、更安全、更安全。 通过遵循一些简单的规则,您甚至可以相当有信心您的轮椅将一体抵达,因为我们都知道航空公司不仅会损坏吉他!

 

航空公司打破的不仅仅是轮椅

检查货舱门的尺寸,以确保您的轮椅在装载时可以保持在明亮的位置。然后它会像您在面包车中一样被绑起来并保持相对安全。当轮椅不适合货物门并且必须倾斜或以其他方式拆卸时,会发生许多损坏。然后,到达后,从未见过那辆轮椅或如何拆卸轮椅的不同工作人员必须设法弄清楚如何重新组装。这导致了人们遇到的许多问题。此外,任何可拆卸的部件都应取出并存放在头顶行李箱中。自适应技术优先于所有其他行李,甚至其他乘客的随身行李。

以下残疾人友好旅游互联网资源提供了有关满足行动不便人士需求的组织和公司的丰富信息。

无障碍旅行和款待协会 (SATH)
SATH 成立于 1976 年,是一家非营利组织,其使命是提高对所有残障旅客需求的认识,消除身体和态度上的障碍以实现免费访问,并扩大旅行机会。 sath.org

可访问的旅行来源
1995 年致力于成熟和残疾旅行者,Access-able 提供有关残疾杂志、如何有特殊需要的旅行、城市、度假村和景点指南,以及在旅途中哪里可以找到轮椅和踏板车出租的信息。 access-able.com

轮椅无障碍度假村
该网站为正在考虑购买或租用轮椅可通行的度假分时度假的度假者提供建议。 除了度假村搜索功能外,信息还包括确保住宿符合 ADA 标准的重要问题。 点击这里:轮椅无障碍度假村

关于旅行、通用设计和残疾的滚雨报告
该网站从残疾人的角度对旅游业进行评论,并跟踪全球无障碍休闲和旅行机会的发展。 rollingrains.com

残疾旅客
提供世界各地专门从事残障人士旅行的企业的信息,包括旅行社、旅游经营者、冒险旅行公司、无障碍游轮专家、无障碍货车和设备租赁、旅行同伴、房屋交换以及轮椅使用者和无障碍指南其他残疾旅客。disabledtravelers.com

打开的门
该组织的网站 travelguides.org 以向残疾人敞开大门,让他们享受世界所提供的一切为使命,提供对残疾人友好的旅行链接、访问指南、数据库和出版物。 travelguides.org

角色说
一个国际残疾人友好旅游资源,提供有关不同类型假期的信息和一个包含 3000 个残疾人住宿设施的数据库。 rolliday.net 

TripBuzz.com

今天,坐在轮椅上的人几乎可以乘坐各种交通工具前往世界各地。 但无论是两小时还是两千英里的路程,坐轮椅旅行仍然需要大量的思考和周密的计划。 轮椅使用者不仅要考虑如何从 A 点到 B 点,还要考虑他们需要为旅行做些什么准备,他们是否会在目的地找到适合轮椅使用者的住宿和景点,甚至很少有办法让他们旅行坐轮椅更容易。 如果没有适当的计划,轮椅使用者可能会发现旅行比无障碍更令人沮丧。

一般旅行小贴士

许多为残障人士设计的提示也适用于轮椅使用者。 从确保他们了解可供他们使用的住宿类型,到停车和残障人士识别在世界各地的运作方式,这些提示有助于阐明坐轮椅的旅行者应该期待什么,以及如何获取他们成功旅行所需的资源。

WorldonWheelz:旅游小贴士 – 查找有关飞行、酒店、游轮和其他一般轮椅旅行的建议。

残疾轮椅旅行者:假期小贴士 – 如果在假期旅行,请使用这些提示来帮助解决住宿、交通和其他旅行注意事项。

FIA 残疾人旅行指南 – 查找您在使用轮椅旅行时所需的所有停车和身份证明信息。

残疾旅客 – 了解使用轮椅或其他残障人士旅行时要牢记的一般提示。

乘飞机旅行

有了所有的规则和规定,乘飞机旅行很容易成为任何人的一种令人沮丧的旅行方式。 加上轮椅,挫败感的机会就会增加。 了解适用于轮椅的具体规则和指南并花时间了解使用轮椅飞行的所有内容有助于减轻机场的压力和挫败感。

如何使用轮椅乘飞机旅行 – 这些提示使乘坐轮椅飞行的压力更小。

使用轮椅和其他助行器飞行 – 大致了解使用轮椅飞行时会发生什么。

轮椅使用者的飞行技巧 – AARP 提供了一些专为老年轮椅使用者设计的飞行技巧。

轮椅使用者的航空旅行小贴士 – 一段简短的视频概述了轮椅使用者在飞行时应采取的步骤。

轮椅和踏板车 – 在前往机场之前,请务必查看 TSA 关于使用轮椅旅行的指南。

关于我的轮椅的信息 – 使用标牌向航空公司或其他运输人员提供有关您的轮椅的信息。

让旅行更轻松

虽然针对残疾人的提示可能对轮椅使用者有所帮助,但他们会遇到一些不适用于所有残疾人的挑战。 仅仅携带一个手提箱或进入他们预订的豪华酒店的大门可能是一个挑战。 当坡道和其他无障碍功能未能出现时,旅行可能变得完全不可能。 了解可能出现的挑战以及如何应对这些挑战或有效地抱怨这些挑战可以使轮椅旅行变得更加容易。

残障人士旅行 – 无障碍旅行的著名演讲者亚当·劳埃德(Adam Lloyd)讨论了让残障人士旅行更轻松的方法。

轮椅旅行行李提示 – 对于轮椅使用者来说,管理行李可能很困难,但这些提示有助于确保他们拥有所需的东西。

当您的无障碍旅行计划出错时:如何有效地抱怨 – 有时事情并没有按计划进行;这些提示可帮助您处理这些情况。

您可以做的 5 件事来帮助您的轮椅旅行伴侣 – 与轮椅使用者一起旅行的人也可以帮助简化旅行。

景点和住宿

轮椅使用者几乎可以在世界任何地方旅行,但有些地方更容易。 从轮椅友好型城市到专为轮椅设计的特殊旅游体验,轮椅使用者可以计划他们将享受的假期。 他们甚至可能会发现一些他们从未想过可以参加的旅行,例如在世界上最大的河流中划皮划艇或探索加勒比海的海滩。

全球最无障碍的目的地 – 坐轮椅并不一定要限制人们去哪里,正如这个残疾人无障碍目的地列表所示。

无障碍旅行专家- 从其他使用轮椅的人那里了解轮椅可进入的位置,并发现最好的参观地点。

残疾人旅游趋势 – 发现一些新的旅行趋势,或许还能获得未来旅行的想法。

寻找合适的轮椅无障碍酒店的提示 – 并非所有酒店都有无障碍客房,因此提前退房是值得的。

使用轮椅旅行 – 四名轮椅使用者在四次独特的旅行中分享他们的经历。

巡航提示和技巧 – 即使乘坐游轮对轮椅使用者来说也不是不可能的。

残疾巡航 – 寻找实用建议,帮助您在使用轮椅时规划和享受航行。

残疾巡洋舰的最佳船舶 – 并非所有游轮都适合残障人士,但本文可帮助您了解要寻找什么。

 

瑞典独立生活中心。 度假屋交换
为世界各地的残疾人提供无障碍度假屋交流。 独立生活.org

新兴视野
新兴视野是一本面向消费者的在线杂志,涵盖残疾人友好旅行,主要关注行动障碍者的旅行;从轮椅使用者到缓慢步行者的所有人。 信息包括资源、新闻和旅行提示。 糖果查尔斯网

Wheelz 上的世界
World On Wheelz 最初是为计划自己旅行的残疾旅行者提供的有用工具,现在与旅行社合作,为残疾旅行者安排和预订无障碍旅行。 worldonwheelz.com

访问旅游中心
该网站提供广泛的旅行相关信息,包括折扣旅行信息、游轮、为残疾客人提供通道的酒店、交通等的链接。 访问travelcenter.com

旅行访问服务 (TASC)
TASC 是一个国际组织,它提供一个数据库,通过将旅行者的无障碍需求与残障人士友好的旅行和款待提供者相匹配,帮助个人制定旅行计划。 tascinternational.org

旅途中的瘸子
一个充满旅游评论、提示、照片和资源的网站,内容涉及广泛的旅游相关主题。 gimponthego.com

带着挑战旅行
提供有关专为成熟旅行者和行动不便人士设计的邮轮和陆地度假的信息。travelwithchallenge.com

全球访问新闻
无障碍旅行报告和免费电子杂志。 globalaccessnews.com

旅行计划

 

旅伴

Transportation

 

航空旅行

残疾航空旅客免费热线

该热线将向消费者提供有关残疾航空旅客权利的一般信息,响应消费者对印刷品信息的要求,并帮助航空旅客解决需要“实时”解决的时效性残疾相关问题。 该线路的工作人员从早上 7 点到晚上 11 点。东部时间,每周 7 天。 遇到与残疾有关的航空旅行服务问题的航空旅客可拨打热线电话: 1-800-778-4838 (声音)或 1-800-455-9880 (TTY) 获得帮助。 与过去一样,希望 DOT 调查有关残疾问题的投诉的航空旅客必须以书面形式或通过电子邮件提交投诉。 点击这里 详情。

儿童营

Books! 买书! 可用的 与 Amazon.com 合作

其他

 

无障碍酒店

从多种资源汇编的信息,包括: Mobility-Advisor , 马科亚

度假屋交换

image of palm tree and beach with text, Accessible Vacation Home Exchange for people with disabilities

与世界其他地区有类似需求的其他人交换房屋是一种低成本且实用的选择。 您可以提前了解度假屋的便利性,因为您可以向您的交换伙伴询问相关问题。

在与潜在的交换伙伴建立联系后,您将需要分享更多信息、签订合同并检查您的家庭保险。 在这里,我们为您提供第一步,剩下的由您决定。

以下列表可能会随着时间而改变。访问以下站点以获取当前列表

度假屋交换:与 8 房屋可供选择!
  Country Type of Exchange Last Updatedsort icon
威斯康星州凯布尔的无障碍 Lakehome 美国 交换和/或租金 2012-02-10
意大利阿布鲁佐的房子 Italy 交换和/或租金 2011-06-09
美国北卡罗来纳州罗利郊外的郊区住宅 美国 交换和/或租金 2011-04-10
斯德哥尔摩舒适的房子 瑞典 交换和/或来留下来 2010-09-10
不列颠哥伦比亚省维多利亚的房子 加拿大 交换和/或来留下来 2010-09-07
公寓, 耶路撒冷 以色列 仅交换 2010-08-31
清迈的独立别墅 泰国 来住和/或租房 2010-08-23
房子,奥肯那根湖,不列颠哥伦比亚省 加拿大 交换和/或来留下来 2010-07-16



Donate - Projects that Need Support

1 / 4

Inclusive Travel Guides

Destinations, Programs, and Agents - Beaches, Watersports, Sailing

(Explore Layers in top left corner menu)

 

Wheelchair Accessible Travel Guides

  • LivAbility Magazine by Ability360 - Free to Subscribe - frequent inclusive travel articles

  • Colombia's Transmilenio Wheelchair Accessible Public Transit System Bogota, Medellin, and a few other cities

  • Samantha Travels India - Wheelchair Van Transportation & Tours - Mumbai, Goa, Delhi, Agra, Jaipur, Ranthambore. Mark Felling, Director visited India with Samantha Travels in 2012. He had an amazing trip while travelling for three weeks and seeing the Golden Triangle, which refers to the three major cities of India - Delhi, Jaipur and Agra. All these three cities are beautiful and examples of diverse culture and traditions.Samantha Travels will set you up with one of their three vehicles that is wheelchair accessible. To the best of our knowledge they are the only outfitter in the whole country that is able to offer this type of inclusive travel.  A driver in India is only $8/day and caregiver $20/day!

 

The travel industry is rapidly recognizing the value of serving the 20% of the world's population with disabilities. Travel more than anything else, is pushing many countries to improve accessibility not only in structures and transportation, but politically. However, for wheelchair users, especially those unable to transfer themselves, a comfortable inclusive vacation is still elusive or minimally requires extensive planning and research. Broadened Horizons will highlight a few unique all-inclusive packages to destinations worldwide where specific partner-providers have gone out of the way to offer an incredibly inclusive experience. The most challenging yet often overlooked issues will be completely addressed for each listing including power-wheelchair friendly ground transportation, ceiling lifts (if available), and recreation/tourism opportunities since Broadened Horizons understands it is not just about getting there and staying in the hotel, but experiencing all the destination has to offer!

In addition to the growing list of unique locations above, also 

I will be adding extensively to this section with some of my travel tips for wheelchair users. The Comfort Carrier makes flying easier, more comfortable, less intimidating, and safer. By following some simple rules you can even feel fairly confident your wheelchair will arrived in one piece because we all know the airlines do not only break guitars!

 

Airlines break more than Wheelchairs

Check the dimensions of the cargo door to ensure your wheelchair can remain in me up bright position when loaded.  It then gets strapped down just like you would do in your Van and remains relatively secure.  Many damages occur when wheelchair does not fit to cargo door and must be tipped on its side or otherwise disassembled.  Then upon arrival different staff who have never seen that wheelchair or how it was disassembled must try to figure out how to reassemble.  This leads to many problems people have encountered.  Also any parts that are removable should be removed and stored in the overhead bin.  Adaptive technologies take priority over all other luggage, even other passengers carry-on luggage.

The following disabled friendly travel internet resources provide a wealth of information on the organizations and companies who cater to the needs of mobility challenged individuals.

Society for Accessible Travel and Hospitality (SATH)
Founded in 1976, SATH is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to raise awareness of the needs of all travelers with disabilities, remove physical and attitudinal barriers to free access, and expand travel opportunities. sath.org

Access-able Travel Source
Dedicated to mature and disabled travelers 1995, Access-able provides information on disability magazines, how to travel with special needs, guides for cities, resorts and attractions, and where to find wheelchair and scooter rentals when you are on the road. access-able.com

Wheel Chair Accessible Resorts
This site offers advice to vacationers who are considering buying or renting a vacation timeshare that is wheelchair accessible. In addition to a resort search function, information includes important questions to ask to ensure accommodations are ADA compliant. Click here:wheel chair accessible resorts

Rolling Rains Report on Travel, Universal Design & Disability
This site provides reviews of the tourism industry from a disability perspective and follows the development of accessible leisure and travel opportunities worldwide. rollingrains.com

Disabled Travelers
Provides information on businesses from around the world that specialize in travel for the disabled, including travel agents, tour operators, adventure travel companies, accessible cruise specialists, accessible van and equipment rentals, travel companions, home exchanges, and access guides for wheelchair users and other disabled travelers.disabledtravelers.com

The Opening Door
With its mission to open doors to persons with disabilities so they can enjoy all that the world has to offer, this organization’s web site, travelguides.org, offers disabled friendly travel links, access guides, databases and publications. travelguides.org

Rolliday
An international disabled friendly travel resource that provides information on different types of holidays and a database of 3000 lodging accommodations for people with disabilities. rolliday.net 

TripBuzz.com

Today, individuals confined to a wheelchair can travel by nearly every mode of transportation to virtually everywhere in the world. But whether traveling two hours or two thousand miles away, traveling with a wheelchair still requires a lot of thought and careful planning. Wheelchair uses must not only consider how to get from point A to point B, but what they need to do to prepare for the trip, whether they’ll find wheelchair accessible accommodations and attractions at their destination, and even little ways to make travelling with a wheelchair easier. Without proper planning, wheelchair users may find travelling more frustrating than accessible.

General Travel Tips

Many of the tips designed for individuals with disabilities also apply to wheelchair users. From making sure they understand the types of accommodations available to them to how parking and handicapped identification works around the world, these tips help lay out what wheelchair-bound travelers should expect and how to access the resources that they need to make their trips successful.

WorldonWheelz: Travel Tips – Find advice on flying, hotels, cruises and other general wheelchair travel.

The Disabled Wheelchair Traveler: Holiday Tips – If traveling during the holidays, use these tips to help with accommodations, transportation, and other travel considerations.

FIA Guide for the Disabled Travel – Find all of the information on parking and identification that you need when traveling with a wheelchair.

Travelers with Disabilities – Discover general tips to keep in mind when traveling with a wheelchair or other disability.

Traveling By Air

With all the rules and regulations, traveling by air can easily become a frustrating method of travel for anyone. Add in a wheelchair and the chance for frustration increases. Understanding the specific rules and guidelines that apply to wheelchairs and taking time understand all that flying with a wheelchair entails can help reduce the stress and frustration at the airport.

How to Travel by Air with a Wheelchair – These tips make flying with a wheelchair a less stressful experience.

Flying with a Wheelchair and Other Mobility Aids – Gain an overview of what happens when flying with a wheelchair.

Flying Tips for Wheelchair Users – The AARP offers some flying tips designed particularly with older wheelchair users in mind.

Air Travel Tips for Wheelchair Users – A short video outlines steps wheelchair users should take when they fly.

Wheelchairs and Scooters – Make sure you review the TSA guidelines for traveling with a wheelchair before heading to the airport.

Information About My Wheelchair – Use the placard to provide information about your wheelchair to airline or other transportation employees.

Making Travel Easier

While tips for disabled individuals may be helpful for wheelchair users, they experience some challenges that do not apply to all disabled people. Simply carrying a suitcase or getting in the door of the swanky hotel they booked can be a challenge. When ramps and other accessibility features fail to appear, travel can become downright impossible. Learning what challenges may arise and how to handle those challenges or effectively complain about them can make traveling with a wheelchair much easier.

Traveling with Disabilities – Adam Lloyd, a notable speaker on accessible travel, discusses ways to make traveling with disabilities easier.

Luggage Tips for Wheelchair Travel – Managing bags can be difficult for wheelchair users, but these tips help make sure they have what they need.

When Your Accessible Travel Plans Go Awry: How to Effectively Complain – Sometimes things don’t go as planned; these tips help you handle those situations.

5 Things You Can Do to Help Your Wheelchair-bound Travel Companion – Those traveling with wheelchair users can also help make traveling easier.

Attractions and Accommodations

Wheelchair users can travel virtually anywhere in the world, but some places make it easier. From wheelchair-friendly cities to special tourist experiences designed specifically with wheelchairs in mind, wheelchair users can plan a vacation they will enjoy. They may even discover some trips they never thought they could take, such as kayaking the world’s greatest rivers or exploring the beaches of the Caribbean.

The Most Handicap Accessible Destinations Around the World – Being wheelchair-bound does not have to limit where people go, as this list of handicap accessible destinations shows.

Accessible Trip Experts- Learn about wheelchair accessible locations from others using a wheelchair and discover the best places to visit.

Disabled Travel Trends – Discover some new travel trends and, perhaps, get ideas for a future trip.

Tips on Finding the Right Wheelchair Accessible Hotel – Not all hotels have highly accessible rooms, so it pays to check them out in advance.

Traveling with Your Wheelchair – Four wheelchair users share their experiences during four unique trips.

Cruise Hints and Tips – Even taking a cruise is not out of the question for wheelchair users.

Cruising with a Disability – Find practical advice to help plan and enjoy a cruise while using a wheelchair.

Best Ships for Cruisers with Disabilities – Not all cruise ships are ideal for people with disabilities, but this article helps you know what to look for.

 

Swedish Independent Living Center. Vacation Home Swap
Providing accessible vacation home exchange for people around the world with disabilities. independentliving.org

Emerging Horizons
A consumer oriented online magazine covering disabled friendly travel, Emerging Horizons’ primary focus is travel for people with mobility disabilities; everybody from wheelchair-users to slow walkers. Information covers resources, news and travel tips. candy-charles.com

World on Wheelz
Originally created to be a helpful tool for disabled travelers who were planning their own trips, World On Wheelz now works with a travel agency to arrange and book accessible trips for disabled travelers. worldonwheelz.com

Access Travel Center
This site features a broad array of travel related information including links to discount travel information, cruises, hotels providing access for disabled guests, transportation and more. accesstravelcenter.com

Travel Access Services (TASC)
TASC is an international organization that offers a database to assist individuals with travel planning by matching travelers’ accessibility needs with disabled friendly travel and hospitality providers. tascinternational.org

Gimp on the Go
A web site filled with travel reviews, tips, photographs and resources on a wide range of travel-related topics. gimponthego.com

Travel with a Challenge
Provides information about cruise and land vacations specifically designed for mature travelers and those who are mobility challenged.travelwithachallenge.com

Global Access News
Accessible travel reports and free e-zine. globalaccessnews.com

Travel Planning

 

Travel Companions

Transportation

 

Air Travel

Toll-Free Hotline For Air Travelers With Disabilities

The hotline will provide general information to consumers about the rights of air travelers with disabilities, respond to requests for printed consumer information, and assist air travelers with time-sensitive disability-related issues that need to be addressed in "real time." The line is staffed from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. Eastern time, seven days a week. Air travelers who experience disability-related air travel service problems may call the hotline at 1-800-778-4838 (voice) or 1-800-455-9880 (TTY) to obtain assistance. As in the past, air travelers who would like DOT to investigate a complaint about a disability issue must submit their complaint in writing or via e-mail. Click here for details.

Camps for Children

Books! Books to Buy! Available in association with Amazon.com

Other

 

Accessible Hotels

Information compiled from multiple resources including: Mobility-Advisor , Makoa

Vacation Home Exchange

image of palm tree and beach with text, Accessible Vacation Home Exchange for people with disabilities

Swapping homes with other persons with similar needs, in other parts of the world, is a low-cost and practical alternative. You can find out in advance how accessible the vacation home is, since you can ask your swap partner relevant questions.

After having established contact with a potential exchange partner you will need to share much more information, set up a contract and check your home insurance. Here, we provide you with the first step, the rest is up to you.

The following listings are likely to change over time.  VISIT the following sites for current listings

Vacation Home Exchange: with 8 homes to choose from!
  Country Type of Exchange Last Updatedsort icon
Accessible Lakehome in Cable, WI United States Swap and/or Rent 2012-02-10
House in Abruzzo Italy Italy Swap and/or Rent 2011-06-09
Suburban home just outside Raleigh, NC, USA United States Swap and/or Rent 2011-04-10
Cozy house in Stockholm Sweden Swap and/or Come and stay 2010-09-10
House in Victoria, BC Canada Swap and/or Come and stay 2010-09-07
Apartment, Jerusalem Israel Swap only 2010-08-31
Individual villas in Chiang Mai Thailand Come and stay and/or Rent 2010-08-23
House, Lake Okanagan, BC Canada Swap and/or Come and stay 2010-07-16



Net Orders Checkout

Item Price Qty Total
Subtotal $0.00 USD
Shipping
Total

Shipping Address

Shipping Methods